icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Newcastle v QPR: Magpies Unchanged

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Alan Pardew has named an unchanged starting line-up as Newcastle United entertain QPR in the Premier League

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Club Reporter

At St. James' Park


Alan Pardew has named an unchanged starting line-up as Newcastle United entertain Queens Park Rangers in the Barclays Premier League at St. James' Park.

The Magpies were impressive seven days ago against champions Manchester City and so manager Pardew has kept faith with same set of players as they look to record only a second win in eight attempts.

It means a 4-3-3 formation for United, with goalkeeper Tim Krul behind a back four of Danny Simpson, Mike Williamson, captain Fabricio Coloccini and Davide Santon.

James Perch, Cheick Tiote and Vurnon Anita make up the trio in the middle of the park, with Papiss Cisse and Jonas Gutierrez either side of 11-goal top scorer Demba Ba in the forward line.

On the substitutes' bench, winger Gabriel Obertan returns from a toe injury to add pace and an extra attacking threat as he joins the likes of Sylvain Marveaux, Sammy Ameobi and Shola Ameobi among the replacements.


Newcastle United (4-3-3): Tim Krul; Danny Simpson, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Davide Santon; James Perch, Cheick Tiote, Vurnon Anita; Papiss Cisse, Demba Ba, Jonas Gutierrez

Substitutes: Steve Harper, Shane Ferguson, Gael Bigirimana, Sylvain Marveaux, Gabriel Obertan, Sammy Ameobi, Shola Ameobi


Queens Park Rangers (4-3-3): Robert Green; Fabio da Silva, Anton Ferdinand, Ryan Nelsen, Clint Hill; Esteban Granero, Stephane Mbia, Alejandro Faurlin; Jamie Mackie, Djibril Cisse, Adel Taarabt

Substitutes: Brian Murphy, Armand Traore, Samba Diakite, Shaun Derry, Nedum Onuoha, Junior Hoilett, Shaun Wright-Phillips


Referee: Kevin Friend (Leicestershire)