icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Newcastle v Olympiakos: Krul And Taylor Start

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Tim Krul and Steven Taylor are in from the start against Greek champions Olympiakos

By Dan King - Newcastle United Club Reporter

Tim Krul starts his first pre-season friendly of the summer as Newcastle take on Greek champions Olympiakos in the Algarve this evening (kick-off 8.45pm).

The keeper was given extra time off following his European Championship exploits with Holland, with Steve Harper and Rob Elliot playing in the three matches so far.

But he comes into the side for the first fixture of United's Trofeu do Guadiana tour and will play behind a defence featuring Steven Taylor, playing for the first time in almost eight months,

He will partner Mike Williamson at centre-back, with James Perch at right-back and Davide Santon on the left.

The midfield is made up of Gabriel Obertan, Gael Bigirimana, Dan Gosling and Romain Amalfitano. Haris Vuckic will play just off Shola Ameobi, the main striker and captain for the night.

Newcastle United (4-4-1-1): Tim Krul; James Perch, Steven Taylor, Mike Williamson, Davide Santon; Gabriel Obertan, Gael Bigirimana, Dan Gosling, Romain Amalfitano; Haris Vuckic; Shola Ameobi (c)

Substitutes: Steve Harper, Fabricio Coloccini, Danny Simpson, Paul Dummett, James Tavernier, Ryan Taylor, Jonas Gutierrez, Sammy Ameobi, Cheick Tiote, Sylvain Marveaux, Mehdi Abeid, Papiss Cisse