icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Newcastle v Metalist Kharkiv: Mapou Starts

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

January signing Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa will make his full debut for Newcastle against Metalist Kharkiv this evening

By Dan King - Newcastle United Club Reporter

Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa will make his full debut for Newcastle United in tonight's Europa League round of 32 first leg clash against Metalist Kharkiv (kick-off 8.05pm).

The French defender, signed from Montpellier last month, starts for the first time in a strong Magpies line-up which reflects how seriously Alan Pardew is taking the competition.

He will play at right-back with Davide Santon on the left and Steven Taylor partnering skipper Fabricio Coloccini in the centre of defence.

Cheick Tiote and Yohan Cabaye will play in midfield with Gabriel Obertan, Jonas Gutierrez and Moussa Sissoko providing support for main striker Papiss Cisse. Tim Krul is in goal.

Yanga-Mbiwa may not be the only debutant as fellow new boy Massadio Haidara is on the bench. He is joined by Rob Elliot, Danny Simpson, Vurnon Anita, James Perch, Sylvain Marveaux and Shola Ameobi.

Mathieu Debuchy and Yoan Gouffran are both ineligible for the competition while James Perch is the other player missing from the starting XI for the last Barclays Premier League game at Tottenham.

Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Tim Krul; Mapou Yanga Mbiwa, Steven Taylor, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Davide Santon; Cheick Tiote, Yohan Cabaye; Gabriel Obertan, Moussa Sissoko, Jonas Gutierrez; Papiss Cisse

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, Danny Simpson, Massadio Haidara, James Perch, Vurnon Anita, Sylvain Marveaux, Shola Ameobi

Metalist (4-2-3-1):
Olexandr Goryainov; Cristian Villagra, Papa Gueye, Marco Torsiglieri, Fininho; Edmar, Juan Manuel Torres; Marlos, Cleiton Xavier, Jose Ernesto Sosa (c); Jonathan Cristaldo

Substitutes: Vladimir Disljenkovic, Andriy Berezovchuk, Oleg Shelayev, Sebastian Blanco, Jaja, Oleg Krasnopyorov, Willian

Referee: Tom Harald Hagen (Norway)