icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Newcastle v Maritimo: Four Changes

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Papiss Cisse's inclusion is one of four changes to a strong Newcastle starting line-up against Maritimo in the Europa League on Thursday

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Club Reporter


Manager Alan Pardew has named a strong starting line-up for Thursday night's Europa League Group D home fixture against Maritimo (8.05pm kick-off).

The Magpies' boss has made just four changes from last weekend's defeat against Swansea in the Premier League. In come club captain Fabricio Coloccini - who is currently serving a domestic ban - midfielder Gael Bigirimana, winger Sylvain Marveaux and striker Papiss Cisse.

Missing out are Mike Williamson, Shane Ferguson, Demba Ba and the suspended Cheick Tiote.

United will line up in a 4-2-3-1 formation with goalkeeper Tim Krul protecting a back four of Danny Simpson, Steven Taylor, Coloccini and Davide Santon.

Providing steel in the middle of the park are Bigirimana and Vurnon Anita, allowing the creative trio of Sammy Ameobi, Hatem Ben Arfa and Marveaux to feed lone striker Cisse.

On the substitutes' bench there is attacking options in the shape of eight-goal leading scorer Demba Ba and Romain Amalfitano, along with the youthful exuberance of James Tavernier, Shane Ferguson and Mehdi Abeid.


Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Tim Krul; Danny Simpson, Steven Taylor, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Davide Santon; Gael Bigirimana, Vurnon Anita; Sammy Ameobi, Hatem Ben Arfa, Sylvain Marveaux; Papiss Cisse

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, James Tavernier, Shane FergusonMike Williamson, Mehdi Abeid, Romain AmalfitanoDemba Ba


Maritimo (4-3-3): Romain Salin; Joao Diogo, Valentin Roberge, Marcio Rosario, Ruben Ferreira; Joao Luiz, Rafael Miranda (c), David Simao; Danilo Dias, Adilson, Sami

Substitutes: Ricardo, Luis Olim, Briguel, Rodrigo Antonio, Joao Guilherme, Ruben Brigido, Fidelis


Referee: Danny Makkelie (Holland)