icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Newcastle v Liverpool: Two Changes

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Hatem Ben Arfa and Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa are handed starting spots for Newcastle against Liverpool

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


Alan Pardew has made two changes to his Newcastle United starting line-up for Saturday's Barclays Premier League home fixture against Liverpool at St. James' Park.

French international duo Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa and Hatem Ben Arfa return from the start as the Reds come to Tyneside, replacing captain Fabricio Coloccini, who has a groin injury, and Senegalese forward Papiss Cisse, who is among the substitutes.

Yanga-Mbiwa will partner Mike Williamson in the heart of United's defence, while Ben Arfa will play as a central striker in a three-man front line.

The Magpies will line up in a 4-3-3 formation, with goalkeeper Tim Krul behind a defence of Mathieu Debuchy, Williamson, Yanga-Mbiwa and Davide Santon.

Stand-in skipper Cheick Tiote, Moussa Sissoko and Yohan Cabaye will patrol the middle of the park, while Yoan Gouffran and Loic Remy will play either side of Ben Arfa in the final third.

On the substitutes' bench, alongside Cisse, there are places for goalkeeper Rob Elliot, defender Paul Dummett, midfielder Vurnon Anita, wingers Gabriel Obertan and Sammy Ameobi, and striker Shola Ameobi.


Newcastle United (4-3-3): Tim Krul; Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Davide Santon; Yohan Cabaye, Cheick Tiote (c), Moussa Sissoko; Yoan Gouffran, Hatem Ben Arfa, Loic Remy

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, Paul Dummett, Vurnon Anita, Gabriel Obertan, Sammy Ameobi, Papiss Cisse, Shola Ameobi


Liverpool (3-4-1-2): Simon Mignolet; Kolo Toure, Martin Skrtel, Mamadou Sakho; Glen Johnson, Jordan Henderson, Steven Gerrard (c), Aly Cissokho; Victor Moses; Luis Suarez, Daniel Sturridge

Substitutes: Brad Jones, Jon Flanagan, Martin Kelly, Daniel Agger, Joe Allen, Raheem Sterling, Luis Alberto


Referee: Andre Marriner (West Midlands)