icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Newcastle v Fulham: Gouffran Returns

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Yoan Gouffran returns to Newcastle's starting line-up for Sunday's Premier League fixture against Fulham

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


Yoan Gouffran returns to the Newcastle United starting line-up for Sunday's Barclays Premier League fixture against Fulham at St. James' Park (3pm kick-off).

The French forward, signed in January from Bordeaux, is the only change to the Magpies' side from their midweek Europa League defeat at Benfica, replacing the injured James Perch.

There is also a change of formation for United, who will revert to a more traditional 4-4-2, with Gouffran joining Papiss Cisse up front.

Sylvain Marveaux and Jonas Gutierrez will take up roles on either flank, with Moussa Sissoko and stand-in captain Yohan Cabaye anchoring the hosts' midfield.

At the back, goalkeeper Tim Krul will be protected by a defence of Danny Simpson, Steven Taylor, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa and Davide Santon.

On the substitutes' bench there are attacking options in the shape of Shola Ameobi, Adam Campbell and Gabriel Obertan, joining Vurnon Anita, Gael Bigirimana, Mike Williamson and Rob Elliot.

Fulham have two ex-Magpies in their ranks, with Damien Duff starting wide on the left of the Cottagers' midfield and defender Aaron Hughes named among the replacements.


Newcastle United (4-4-2): Tim Krul; Danny Simpson, Steven Taylor, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Davide Santon; Sylvain Marveaux, Yohan Cabaye (c), Moussa Sissoko, Jonas Gutierrez; Papiss Cisse, Yoan Gouffran

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, Mike Williamson, Gael Bigirimana, Vurnon Anita, Gabriel Obertan, Adam Campbell, Shola Ameobi


Fulham (4-4-1-1): Mark Schwarzer; Sascha Riether, Philippe Senderos, Brede Hangeland (c), John Arne Riise; Stanislav Manolev, Eyong Enoh, Giorgos Karagounis, Damien Duff; Bryan Ruiz; Dimitar Berbatov

Substitutes: Neil Etheridge, Aaron Hughes, Kieran Richardson, Emmanuel Frimpong, Urby Emanuelson, Kerim Frei, Hugo Rodallega


Referee: Kevin Friend (Leicestershire)