icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Newcastle v Club Brugge: Nine Changes

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Sammy Ameobi, Shane Ferguson, Cheick Tiote and Papiss Cisse are among the starters for Newcastle against Brugge

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Club Reporter


Newcastle United manager Alan Pardew has made nine changes for Thursday's Europa League Group D home game against Club Brugge (8.05pm kick-off)

The only survivors from Sunday's Tyne-Wear derby draw at Sunderland are full-back Davide Santon and midfielder Cheick Tiote - who was sent off at the Stadium of Light.

However, Tiote's three-match suspension is only for domestic fixtures so, as already revealed by Pardew, the Ivorian enforcer starts in the heart of the Magpies' midfield.

United will line-up in a 4-3-3 formation for the first game back at St. James' Park, which has returned to its old name thanks to new Club sponsor Wonga.

Veteran goalkeeper Steve Harper has been given the nod in between the sticks and will be protected by a back four of Santon - who shifts to right-back - James Perch, captain for the night Steven Taylor and Shane Ferguson.

In front of them is a midfield trio of Tiote, summer signing Vurnon Anita and Gael Bigirimana, and providing creativity and firepower in the final third will be Gabriel Obertan, Papiss Cisse and Sammy Ameobi, with the latter making his first start and only his second appearance of the season.

On the substitutes' bench there are places for the experience of Tim Krul, Fabricio Coloccini, Yohan Cabaye, Hatem Ben Arfa, Demba Ba and Shola Ameobi, while there is youth in the shape of 17-year-old Adam Campbell.


Newcastle United (4-3-3): Steve Harper; Davide Santon, Steven Taylor (c), James Perch, Shane Ferguson; Gael Bigirimana, Cheick Tiote, Vurnon Anita; Gabriel Obertan, Papiss Cisse, Sammy Ameobi

Substitutes: Tim Krul, Fabricio Coloccini, Yohan Cabaye, Hatem Ben Arfa, Adam Campbell, Shola Ameobi, Demba Ba


Club Brugge (4-3-3): Bojan Jorgacevic; Tom Hogli, Carl Hoefkens (c), Jordi, Bart Buysse; Vadis Odjidja, Jonathan Blondel, Jesper Jorgensen; Lior Refaelov, Carlos Bacca, Maxime Lestienne

Substitutes: Vladan Kujovic, Jannes Vansteenkiste, Bjorn Engels, Victor Vazquez, Thibaut van Acker, Ivan Trickovski, Bjorn Vleminckx


Referee: Martin Hansson (Sweden)