icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Newcastle v Chelsea: Three Changes

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Alan Pardew has made three changes to his Newcastle United starting line-up as Chelsea come to St. James' Park

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor

At St. James' Park


Alan Pardew has made three changes to his Newcastle United starting line-up as Chelsea come to St. James' Park in the Barclays Premier League.

In come full-back Davide Santon, midfielder Yohan Cabaye and striker Loic Remy, with Vurnon Anita, Papiss Cisse and the injured Massadio Haidara missing out from Wednesday's Capital One Cup defeat against Manchester City.

The Magpies will be looking for a repeat of last season's home victory over the Blues, where they came from 2-1 down to record a dramatic Moussa Sissoko-inspired 3-2 triumph.

And they will line up in a 4-4-2 formation, with goalkeeper Tim Krul behind a back four of Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa and Santon.

Moussa Sissoko and Yoan Gouffran will take up roles on either flank, with stand-in skipper Cheick Tiote and Cabaye in the middle of the park.

And long-serving Shola Ameobi will be partnered by five-goal leading Remy up front.

Anita and Cisse are on the substitutes and are joined by Rob Elliot, James Tavernier, Gabriel Obertan, Sammy Ameobi and Hatem Ben Arfa.


Newcastle United (4-4-2): Tim Krul; Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Davide Santon; Moussa Sissoko, Cheick Tiote (c), Yohan Cabaye, Yoan Gouffran; Shola Ameobi, Loic Remy

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, James Tavernier, Vurnon Anita, Gabriel Obertan, Sammy Ameobi, Hatem Ben Arfa, Papiss Cisse


Chelsea (4-2-3-1): Petr Cech; Branislav Ivanovic, David Luiz, John Terry (c), Ashley Cole; Ramires, Frank Lampard; Juan Mata, Oscar, Eden Hazard; Fernando Torres

Substitutes: Mark Schwarzer, Cesar Azpilicueta, Gary Cahill, John Obi Mikel, Willian, Andre Schurrle, Samuel Eto'o


Referee: Lee Mason (Greater Manchester)