icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Newcastle v Anzhi: Three Changes

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

There are three changes to Newcastle's starting line-up for their crucial Europa League tie against Anzhi Makhachkala

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


Alan Pardew has made three changes to his Newcastle United starting line-up for Thursday's Europa League Round of 16 second-leg tie against Anzhi Makhachkala at St. James' Park.

The sides are locked together following a goalless draw in Moscow seven days ago, and there has to be a winner on the night, meaning away goals, extra-time and penalties could all come in to play on Tyneside.

In come full-back Massadio Haïdara, midfielder Vurnon Anita and winger Sylvain Marveaux, taking the places of Jonas Gutierrez, Mathieu Debuchy and Yoan Gouffran - the final two of who are ineligible to represent United in the competition.

As well as the personnel, there is also a change of formation for the Magpies as they switch to an attack-minded 4-3-3.

Goalkeeper Rob Elliot will be protected by a back four of Davide Santon, Steven Taylor, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa and Haïdara.

Newcastle's midfield trio will be Ivorian enforcer Cheick Tiote, stand-in captain Yohan Cabaye and former Ajax man Vurnon Anita.

On the right of a three-man attack is French schemer Marveaux, with fellow countryman Moussa Sissoko deployed on the left. And Senegalese striker Papiss Cisse - with nine goals to his name this term - will play through the middle.

The substitutes' bench sees places for youngsters Gael Bigirimana and Adam Campbell, while long-serving striker Shola Ameobi will make his 50th European appearance for the Club if called upon.


Newcastle United (4-3-3): Rob Elliot; Davide Santon, Steven Taylor, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Massadio Haïdara; Vurnon Anita, Cheick Tiote, Yohan Cabaye (c); Sylvain Marveaux, Papiss Cisse, Moussa Sissoko

Substitutes: Steve Harper, James Perch, Gael Bigirimana, Jonas Gutierrez, Gabriel Obertan, Adam Campbell, Shola Ameobi


Anzhi Makhachkala (4-3-3): Vladimir Gabulov; Andrei Eschenko, Ewerton, Joao Carlos, Yuri Zhirkov; Odil Ahmedov, Lassana Diarra, Jucilei; Mbark Boussoufa, Samuel Eto'o (c), Mehdi Carcela-Gonzalez

Substitutes: Evgeni Pomazan, Rasim Tagirbekov, Arseni Logashov, Kamil Agalarov, Oleg Shatov, Fedor Smolov, Lacina Traore


Referee: Deniz Aytekin (Germany)