icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Man Utd v Newcastle: Anita Starts

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Vurnon Anita is in from the start as Newcastle make one change for their trip to Manchester United

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor

At Old Trafford


Alan Pardew has made one change to his Newcastle United starting line-up for Saturday's Barclays Premier League fixture away at Manchester United.

Dutch midfielder Vurnon Anita replaces striker Shola Ameobi for his sixth top flight start of the campaign, and his first since the end of September,

Ameobi drops down to the substitutes' bench as they Magpies switch to a 4-3-3 formation.

Goalkeeper Tim Krul will be behind a four-man defence of Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, captain Fabricio Coloccini and Davide Santon.

Anita joins Cheick Tiote and Yohan Cabaye in United's engine room, supporting a striking trio of Moussa Sissoko, eight-goal leading scorer Loic Remy and Yoan Gouffran.

Joining Ameobi among the replacements are Rob Elliot, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Gabriel Obertan, Hatem Ben Arfa, Papiss Cisse and Jonas Gutierrez, with the latter in a matchday squad for the first time since the start of October.


Manchester United (4-4-2): David De Gea; Rafael, Jonny Evans, Nemanja Vidic (c), Patrice Evra; Nani, Phil Jones, Tom Cleverley, Adnan Januzaj; Javier Hernandez, Robin Van Persie

Substitutes: Anders Lindegaard, RioFerdinand, Anderson, Antonio Valencia, Ashley Young, Wifried Zaha, Danny Welbeck


Newcastle United (4-3-3): Tim Krul; Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Davide Santon; Vurnon Anita, Cheick Tiote, Yohan Cabaye; Moussa Sissoko, Loic Remy, Yoan Gouffran

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Jonas Gutierrez, Gabriel Obertan, Hatem Ben Arfa, Papiss Cisse, Shola Ameobi


Referee: Andre Marriner (West Midlands)