icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Magpies Await Europa Draw

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

The draw for the Europa League's rounds of 32 and 16 will be made in Switzerland on Thursday afternoon

By Dan King - Newcastle United Club Reporter

The draw for the Europa League's rounds of 32 and 16 will be made on Thursday afternoon, with Newcastle United waiting to learn who they will face in the next stage and their potential opponents for the round after that.

At 1pm, the draw will be made in Nyon in Switzerland and features the top two teams from each of the 12 groups along with the eight sides transferring from Champions League after finishing third in their pools.

Europa League group winners are seeded, as are the four Champions League teams with the best record in their section - Chelsea, Cluj, Olympiacos and Benfia. The other 16 teams - including Newcastle, who came second in Group D, are unseeded.

As United finished as group runners-up, they will be at home for the first leg in the round of 32 and can't be drawn to play against Bordeaux, Liverpool or Chelsea at this stage. This therefore leaves 13 possible opponents as follows:

FC Viktoria Plzeň (Czech Republic)
Fenerbahçe SK (Turkey)
FC Steaua BucureÅŸti (Romania)
FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk (Ukraine)
KRC Genk (Belgium)
FC Rubin Kazan (Russia)
Olympique Lyonnais (France)
S.S. Lazio (Italy)
FC Metalist Kharkiv (Ukraine)
Hannover 96 (Germany)
CFR 1907 Cluj (Romania)
Olympiacos FC (Greece)
SL Benfica (Portugal)

The draw for the round of 16, which will be played on 7th and 14th March, follows and there are no seeded teams - all 16 balls will be placed into a bowl and shuffled and there are on restrictions on the draw.

The full list of teams in the draw is:

Seeded teams
Liverpool FC, FC Viktoria Plzeň, Fenerbahçe SK, FC Girondins de Bordeaux, FC Steaua Bucureşti, FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk, KRC Genk, FC Rubin Kazan, Olympique Lyonnais, S.S. Lazio, FC Metalist Kharkiv, Hannover 96, Chelsea FC, CFR 1907 Cluj, Olympiacos FC, SL Benfica.

Unseeded teams
FC Anji Makhachkala, Club Atlético de Madrid, VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach, Newcastle United FC, VfB Stuttgart, SSC Napoli, FC Basel 1893, FC Internazionale Milano, AC Sparta Praha, Tottenham Hotspur FC, Bayer 04 Leverkusen, Levante UD, FC Dynamo Kyiv, FC Zenit St Petersburg, AFC Ajax, FC BATE Borisov.