icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Liverpool v Newcastle: Two Changes

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Massadio Haidara and Steven Taylor return to the Newcastle United starting line-up at Anfield

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor

At Anfield


Alan Pardew has made two changes to his Newcastle United starting line-up for Sunday's final game of the Barclays Premier League season, away at Liverpool (3pm kick-off).

Following last weekend's 3-0 home victory over Cardiff City, defenders Massadio Haidara and Steven Taylor return to the Magpies' team, replacing Paul Dummett and injured 14-goal leading scorer Loic Remy.

It means a slight reshuffle in formation for United, who are expected to start in a 4-4-1-1 formation, with goalkeeper Tim Krul behind a back four of Taylor, Mike Williamson, captain Fabricio Coloccini and Haidara.

Mathieu Debuchy could be deployed on the right-hand side of midfield, with Yoan Gouffran on the opposite flank and Cheick Tiote and Vurnon Anita patrolling the centre of the park.

Moussa Sissoko is expected to start in the number ten role, just off lone front man Shola Ameobi, who has netted twice in his last three appearances for the Magpies.

On the substitutes' bench there is a first outing for 18-year-old Slovakian defender Lubomir Satka, and he is joined by fit-again pair Davide Santon and Sammy Ameobi.

There are also spots for Dummett, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Rob Elliot and Luuk de Jong.


Liverpool (4-3-3): Simon Mignolet; Glen Johnson, Martin Skrtel, Daniel Agger, Jon Flanagan; Jordan Henderson, Steven Gerrard (c), Joe Allen; Raheem Sterling, Luis Suarez, Daniel Sturridge

Substitutes: Brad Jones, Kolo Toure, Mamadou Sakho, Aly Cissokho, Lucas, Philippe Coutinho, Iago Aspas


Newcastle United (4-4-1-1): Tim Krul; Steven Taylor, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini, Massadio Haidara; Mathieu Debuchy, Vurnon Anita, Cheick Tiote, Yoan Gouffran; Moussa SissokoShola Ameobi

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, Davide Santon, Paul Dummett, Lubomir Satka, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Sammy Ameobi, Luuk de Jong


Referee: Phil Dowd (Staffordshire)