icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Lillestrom v Newcastle: Team News

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Head coach Steve McClaren has named a strong starting line-up for Newcastle United's friendly against Lillestrom

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor

At the La Manga Club Football Centre


Head coach Steve McClaren has named a strong starting line-up for Newcastle United's friendly against Lillestrom on Saturday (2pm kick-off GMT).

The Magpies' side includes six senior internationals, as well as all four of their January signings - Henri Saivet, Andros Townsend, Seydou Doumbia and Jonjo Shelvey, the latter of who will wear the captain's armband.

Newcastle are expected to start in a 4-2-3-1 formation, with Republic of Ireland international goalkeeper Rob Elliot behind a back four of Daryl Janmaat, Steven Taylor, Jamaal Lascelles and teenage left-back Liam Gibson.

Saivet and captain-for-the-day Shelvey will anchor United's midfield, with a trio of Townsend, leading scorer Georginio Wijnaldum and Ayoze Perez in front of them.

And they will be tasked with supplying the ammunition for Doumbia, who is on loan from AS Roma.

McClaren has nine substitutes to call on during the match - Emmanuel Riviere, Rolando Aarons, Yoan Gouffran, Moussa Sissoko, Daniel Barlaser, Fabricio Coloccini, Callum Williams, Jamie Sterry and Freddie Woodman.


Lillestrom (4-2-3-1): Arnold Origi; Hakon Skogseid, Marius Amundsen, Frode Kippe, Simen Kind Mikalsen; Malaury Martin, Bonke Innocent; Bassel Jradi, Erling Knudtzon, Jorgen Kolstad; Fred Friday

Substitutes: Jacob Faye-Lund, Martin Falkeborn, Ole Martin Rindaroy, Erik Brenden, Petter Mathias Olsen, Sheriff Sinyan, Arni Vilhjalmsson


Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Karl Darlow; Daryl Janmaat, Steven Taylor, Jamaal Lascelles, Liam Gibson; Henri Saivet, Jonjo Shelvey (c); Andros Townsend, Georginio Wijnaldum, Ayoze Perez; Seydou Doumbia

Substitutes: Freddie Woodman, Jamie Sterry, Callum Williams, Fabricio Coloccini, Daniel Barlaser, Moussa Sissoko, Yoan Gouffran, Rolando Aarons, Emmanuel Riviere


Referee: Dag Vidar Hafsas