icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Good Named In Socceroos Squad

Written by Newcastle Utd

Defender Curtis Good has been handed a place in Australia's provisional 30-man squad for next month's World Cup

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


Defender Curtis Good has been handed a place in Australia's provisional 30-man squad for next month's World Cup.

The 21-year-old has only made one first team appearance for Newcastle - at Morecambe last August - but has enjoyed successful loan spells at Bradford City and Dundee United since his arrival on Tyneside in the summer of 2012.

Good won his first - and only to date - international cap in March, but has done enough to impress head coach Ange Postecoglou and earn a spot in the Socceroos' party.

Australia have been drawn in a tough-looking Group B, where they will face Chile on Friday, 13th June, followed by fixtures against Holland (18th June) and Spain (23rd June).

Good becomes the seventh Newcastle United player to be named in a provisional or final squad ahead of the finals in Brazil, following Shola Ameobi (Nigeria), Cheick Tiote (Ivory Coast), Mathieu Debuchy, Moussa Sissoko, Loic Remy (all France), and Tim Krul (Holland).


Australia squad in full

Goalkeepers: Mark Birighitti (Newcastle Jets), Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United), Mitchell Langerak (Borussia Dortmund), Mat Ryan (Club Brugge)

Defenders: Jason Davidson (Heracles Almelo), Ivan Franjic (Brisbane Roar), Curtis Good (Newcastle United), Ryan McGowan (Shandong Luneng Taishan), Matthew Spiranovic (Western Sydney Wanderers), Alex Wilkinson (Jeonbuk Hyundai), Luke Wilkshire (Dinamo Moscow), Bailey Wright (Preston North End)

Midfielders: Oliver Bozanic (Luzern), Mark Bresciano (Al Gharafa), Joshua Brillante (Newcastle Jets), James Holland (Austria Vienna), Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace), Massimo Luongo (Swindon Town), Matthew McKay (Brisbane Roar), Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory), Tommy Oar (Utrecht), Tommy Rogic (Melbourne Victory), Adam Sarota (Utrecht), James Troisi (Melbourne Victory), Dario Vidosic (Sion)

Forwards: Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls), Ben Halloran (Fortuna Dusseldorf), Josh Kennedy (Nagoya Grampus 8), Matthew Leckie (FSV Frankfurt 1899), Adam Taggart (Newcastle Jets)


Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close