icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



For Whom The Bell Tolls

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

England under-16 coash Kenny Swain has selected Newcastle's Liam Bell for the opening game of the Sky Sports Victory Shield next month

By Dan King - Newcastle United Digital Editor

Blyth lad Liam Bell is the latest Newcastle United youngster to be called up by England at youth level.

The 15-year-old midfielder has been chosen as part of Kenny Swain's 18-man squad for the Sky Sports Victory Shield opener against Wales under-16s next month.

Kidderminster's Aggborough Stadium will be the venue for the televised clash on Friday, October 4 with the Young Lions looking to win the competition for the 13th successive year.

Last season Kyle Cameron, Adam Armstrong and Freddie Woodman were all part of the successful England squad while Adam Campbell featured as England lifted the trophy in 2011.

The squad is: Connor King (Burnley), Ryan Sandford (Millwall), Danny Collinge (MK Dons), Benjamin Cull (Southampton), Ro-Shaun Oman Williams (Manchester United), Reece Oxford (West Ham United), Ben Sheaf (West Ham United), Charlie Wakefield (Chelsea), James Yates (Everton), Liam Bell (Newcastle United), Tom Davies (Everton), Jacob Maddox (Chelsea), William Patching (Manchester City), Christopher Willock (Arsenal), Rushian Hepburn-Murphy (Aston Villa), Kaylen Hinds (Arsenal), Layton Ndukwu (Leicester City), Adam Phillips (Liverpool).