icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Everton v Newcastle: Gouffran And Tiote Start

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Yoan Gouffran and Cheick Tiote will start for Newcastle United away at Everton on Monday night

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


Yoan Gouffran and Cheick Tiote will start for Newcastle United away at Everton on Monday night in the Premier League (8pm kick-off)

The pair, who both impressed in the Magpies' Capital One Cup victory over Leeds last week, are recalled to the starting line-up at Goodison Park as Alan Pardew's side go in search of another positive result on their travels.

Gouffran has been mainly used as a substitute this season but has already netted twice; against the Whites and the winner at Aston Villa earlier this month, while Tiote last started a top flight fixture on the opening day of the campaign at Manchester City.

United will line up in a 4-3-3 formation, with goalkeeper Tim Krul protected by a back four of Mathieu Debuchy, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, captain Fabricio Coloccini and Davide Santon.

Tiote will join in-form Dutchman Vurnon Anita and French powerhouse Moussa Sissoko in a midfield trio.

And it is a three-pronged attack for the visitors, with Gouffran wide on the right, Hatem Ben Arfa switching to left flank and Loic Remy through the middle.

Papiss Cisse and Yohan Cabaye are named among the substitutes, and are joined by Rob Elliot, Paul Dummett, Mike WilliamsonGabriel Obertan and Sammy Ameobi.


Everton (4-2-3-1): Tim Howard; Seamus Coleman, Phil Jagielka (c), Sylvain Distin, Leighton Baines; James McCarthy, Gareth Barry; Leon Osman, Ross Barkley, Kevin Mirallas; Romelu Lukaku

Substitutes: Joel Robles, John Stones, John Heitinga, Gerard Deulofeu, Steven Naismith, Nikica Jelavic, Arouna Kone


Newcastle United (4-3-3): Tim Krul; Mathieu Debuchy, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Davide Santon; Vurnon Anita, Cheick Tiote, Moussa Sissoko; Yoan Gouffran, Loic Remy, Hatem Ben Arfa

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, Paul Dummett, Mike Williamson, Yohan Cabaye, Gabriel Obertan, Sammy Ameobi, Papiss Cisse


Referee: Phil Dowd (Staffordshire)