icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Eastern Promise: Hong Kong Squad Named

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Willie Donachie and Peter Beardsley have named their squad for this year's Citibank Hong Kong Football Club International Soccer Sevens

By Dan King - Newcastle United Club Reporter

Newcastle United will fly out to the Far East on Wednesday evening ahead of this year's Citibank Hong Kong Football Club International Soccer Sevens.

Willie Donachie and Peter Beardsley have named a ten-man party for the competition at Hong Kong Football Club in Happy Valley.

Defending champions Newcastle - who won the title with victory over Aston Villa in last year's final - take on local sides HKFC Captain's Select and Southern District and fellow English side Leicester City in Group B on Saturday.

James Tavernier skippered last season's side and is likely to do so again this time around, while Paul Dummett, Bradden Inman, Jak Alnwick and Steven Logan all return from last year.

Sammy Ameobi is involved along with Michael Richardson, who was a late withdrawal 12 months ago due to injury, while Conor Newton, Remie Streete and Rolando Aarons are also on the flight.

As always, nufc.co.uk is the only place to come for in-depth coverage of United, be it at home or abroad, with Club Reporter Dan King joining the squad in Hong Kong as the Magpies look to retain the trophy.

Newcastle United squad in full

Jak Alnwick, Bradden Inman, Sammy Ameobi, James Tavernier, Paul Dummett, Remie Streete, Rolando Aarons, Michael Richardson, Conor Newton, Steven Logan