icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Duo Return From Long-Term Lay-Offs

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Michael Richardson and Alex Nicholson are back from injury while four players with senior experience are in under-21 squad to face Stoke

By Dan King - Newcastle United Club Reporter

Long-term absentees Michael Richardson and Alex Nicholson are back in the Newcastle squad for Friday's Barclays Under-21 Premier League visit of Stoke City.

Richardson has been sidelined since September, when he suffered an ankle ligament injury playing against Sunderland's second-string, while Nicholson hasn't played since being stretchered off, ironically against Stoke, in the same month.

United beat the Potters 5-1 home and away in the first half of the season so have a hard act to follow in the 1.30pm kick-off which will be played behind closed doors at the Magpies' training ground.

Also back in the squad are defenders Lubo Satka and Remie Streete, who have been missing with shorter-term injuries, while there are two potential debutants - Jamaican youngster Rolando Aarons and blonde midfielder Greg Olley, who are both first-year Academy players.

At the other end of the spectrum, Sammy Ameobi, James Tavernier, Nile Ranger and Adam Campbell all boast first-team experience while new signing Massadio Haidara is again included after playing in last week's under-21 loss to Reading.

The squad is: Rolando Aarons, Jak Alnwick, Sammy Ameobi, Adam Campbell, Massadio Haidara, Alex Kitchen, Steven Logan, Jonathan Mitchell, Alex Nicholson, Greg Olley, Jonathyn Quinn, Nile Ranger, Michael Richardson, Lubo Satka, Remie Streete, James Tavernier.