icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Crystal Palace v Newcastle: Cabaye Returns

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Yohan Cabaye returns to the Newcastle starting line-up for Saturday's Premier League fixture at Crystal Palace

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor

At Selhurst Park


Yohan Cabaye returns to the Newcastle United starting line-up for Saturday's Barclays Premier League fixture away at Crystal Palace.

The French international midfielder served a one-game ban as the Magpies drew with Southampton last weekend, but is back in for the trip to Selhurst Park.

Cabaye replaces long-serving front man Shola Ameobi, who drops down to the substitutes' bench, and it is the only change made by manager Alan Pardew, who will also slightly reshuffle his team.

United will start in a 4-3-3 formation - the same system and personnel that had such success at Manchester United earlier this month.

Goalkeeper Tim Krul will be protected by a back four of Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, captain Fabricio Coloccini and Davide Santon.

Cabaye will join Vurnon Anita and Cheick Tiote in a midfield trio, with Moussa Sissoko and Yoan Gouffran either side of eight-goal leading scorer Loic Remy in the final third.

Joining Ameobi among the replacements are Rob Elliot, Massadio Haidara, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Gabriel Obertan, Hatem Ben Arfa and Papiss Cisse.


Crystal Palace (4-3-3): Julian Speroni; Adrian Mariappa, Danny Gabbidon, Damien Delaney, Dean Moxey; Jason Puncheon, Joel Ward, Mile Jedinak, Barry Bannan; Marouane Chamakh, Cameron Jerome

Substitutes: Lewis Price, Jonathan Parr, Jose Campana, Jonathan Williams, Yannick Bolasie, Kevin Phillips, Dwight Gayle


Newcastle United (4-3-3): Tim Krul; Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Davide Santon; Vurnon Anita, Cheick Tiote, Yohan Cabaye; Moussa Sissoko, Loic Remy, Yoan Gouffran

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, Massadio Haidara, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Gabriel Obertan, Hatem Ben Arfa, Papiss Cisse, Shola Ameobi


Referee: Neil Swarbrick (Lancashire)