icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Club Brugge v Newcastle: Eight Changes

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Newcastle manager Alan Pardew has made eight changes to his starting line-up for Thursday's Europa League tie against Club Brugge

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Club Reporter

At the Jan Breydel Stadium


Newcastle United manager Alan Pardew has made eight changes to his starting line-up for Thursday night's Europa League Group D tie away at Club Brugge.

Captain Fabricio Coloccini, Tim Krul and Vurnon Anita are the only three players to remain from those which took to the field at Anfield last Sunday in the Premier League, but it is still Magpies side packed with experience, however.

United are expected to line up in a 4-2-3-1 formation, with Krul protected by a back four of Anita, Mike Williamson, Coloccini and youngster James Tavernier.

Gael Bigirimana and Cheick Tiote will provide the steel in midfield, allowing the creative trio of Sammy Ameobi, Sylvain Marveaux and Gabriel Obertan to feed lone striker Shola Ameobi.

There is plenty of attack-minded on the substitutes' bench, with Papiss Cisse, Romain Amalfitano and Yohan Cabaye all named as replacements, while there is also room for Shane Ferguson, Rob Elliot, Davide Santon and Steven Taylor.


Club Brugge (4-2-3-1): Bojan Jorgacevic; Tom Hogli, Carl Hoefkens (c), Michael Almeback, Jordi; Ryan Donk, Vadis Odjidja; Maxime Lestienne, Jesper Jorgensen, Ivan Trickovski; Carlos Bacca

Substitutes: Vladan Kujovic, Bart Buysee, Bjorn Engels, Birger Verstraete, Nathaniel Lagrou, Mohamed Tchite, Bjorn Vleminckx


Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Tim Krul; Vurnon Anita, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini (c), James Tavernier; Gael Bigirimana, Cheick Tiote; Sammy Ameobi, Sylvain Marveaux, Gabriel Obertan; Shola Ameobi

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, Shane Ferguson, Davide SantonSteven Taylor, Yohan Cabaye, Romain Amalfitano, Papiss Cisse


Referee: Luca Banti