icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Blackpool v Newcastle: Team News

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Alan Pardew has named an experienced starting line-up for Newcastle's pre-season friendly at Blackpool on Sunday

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


Alan Pardew has named an experienced starting line-up for Newcastle United's pre-season friendly at Blackpool on Sunday afternoon (3pm kick-off).

Five senior internationals are in from the off at Bloomfield Road, in a side which has Premier League experience running all the way through.

In a 4-4-2 formation, goalkeeper Rob Elliot will be behind a back four of birthday boy Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, Steven Taylor and Davide Santon.

Captain-for-the-afternoon Yohan Cabaye and Moussa Sissoko will provide steel in the middle of the park, flanked by Sylvain Marveaux and Jonas Gutierrez on either wing.

And the two-man front pairing is French striker Yoan Gouffran alongside long-serving Shola Ameobi.

The Magpies have named a youthful six-man substitutes' bench, with keeper Jak Alnwick joined by Paul Dummett, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Haris Vuckic, Sammy Ameobi and Adam Campbell.

Blackpool include recent signings Steven Davies and Michael Chopra up top - the latter of who started his career at St. James' Park.


Blackpool (4-4-2): Matt Gilks; Kirk Broadfoot, Gary MacKenzie, Craig Cathcart, Bob Harris; Bobby Grant, Barry Ferguson (c), Angel Martinez, Thomas Ince; Michael Chopra, Steven Davies

Substitutes: Mark Halstead, Massire Kante, Neil Bishop, Chris Basham, Isaiah Osbourne. Nathan Eccleston, Daylon Claasen, Tom Barkhuizen, Anderson Banvo, Jake Caprice


Newcastle United (4-4-2): Rob Elliot; Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, Steven Taylor, Davide Santon; Sylvain Marveaux, Yohan Cabaye (c), Moussa Sissoko, Jonas Gutierrez; Yoan Gouffran, Shola Ameobi

Substitutes: Jak Alnwick, Paul Dummett, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Haris Vuckic, Sammy Ameobi, Adam Campbell


Referee: Andre Marriner (West Midlands)