icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Ba On List For African Award

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Demba Ba has been named on the ten-man shortlist for the 2012 African Player of the Year award

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Club Reporter


Demba Ba has been named on the ten-man shortlist for the 2012 African Player of the Year award.

Ba, along with Newcastle United teammates Papiss Cisse and Cheick Tiote were among an initial 34-man list announced in October, but that has now been whittled down, with Ba making the cut.

The Senegalese front man netted 16 goals in his first season on Tyneside, and has begun the 2012/13 campaign in equally-impressive form, netting seven times in just 11 appearances.

Ba, aged 27, is one of four Premier League-based players on the list, with Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure, Chelsea's John Obi Mikel and Arsenal forward Gervinho.

The candidates will be reduced to a final list of three at the end of November, with the winner announced at a ceremony next month.


African Player of the Year - Ten-Man Shortlist

Alexander Song (Barcelona/Cameroon)

Andre Ayew (Marseille/Ghana)

Christopher Katongo (Henan Construction/Zambia)

Demba Ba (Newcastle United/Senegal)

Didier Drogba (Shanghai Shenhua/Ivory Coast)

Gervinho (Arsenal/Ivory Coast)

John Obi Mikel (Chelsea/Nigeria)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Saint Etienne/Gabon)

Yaya Toure (Manchester City/Ivory Coast)

Younes Belhanda (Montpellier/Morocco)