icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross-thin icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon


Aston Villa v Newcastle: Team News

Written by Newcastle Utd

Rafa Benitez has named his starting XI for Newcastle's Sky Bet Championship game against Aston Villa

By Dan King - Newcastle United Managing Editor

Ciaran Clark will start for the Magpies on his return to Villa Park this afternoon (kick-off 5.30pm).

The Republic of Ireland international, who joined Newcastle from Villa in the summer, will partner captain Jamaal Lascelles in the heart of the United defence.

With Vurnon Anita serving the second game of his three-match ban, DeAndre Yedlin will make his first league start for the Club while Paul Dummett is at left-back. Matz Sels is in goal.

Isaac Hayden and Jonjo Shelvey are the Magpies' central midfield pair with Yoan Gouffran and Matt Ritchie out wide. Mohamed Diame will offer support for support front man Dwight Gayle.

On the bench, Karl Darlow is joined by Grant Hanley, Achraf Lazaar, Christian Atsu, Ayoze Perez, Aleksandar Mitrovic, while Cheick Tiote is also named among the substitutes.

Aston Villa (3-5-2): Pierluigi Gollini, Leandro Bacuna, James Chester, Tommy Elphick, Nathan Baker, Jordan Amavi; Mile Jedinak, Ashley Westwood, Albert Adomah; Jonathan Kodjia, Andre Ayew

Substitutes: Mark Bunn, Micah Richards, Aly Cissokho, Alan Hutton, Aaron Tshibola, Rushian Hepburn-Murphy, Rudy Gestede

Newcastle United (4-2-3-1):
Matz Sels; DeAndre Yedlin, Jamaal Lascelles (c), Ciaran Clark, Paul Dummett; Isaac Hayden, Jonjo Shelvey; Matt Ritchie, Mohamed Diame, Yoan Gouffran; Dwight Gayle

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, Grant Hanley, Achraf Lazaar, Cheick Tiote, Christian Atsu, Ayoze Perez, Aleksandar Mitrovic

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite