Barnsley club emblemNewcastle United club emblem
  • Barnsley v Newcastle: Three Changes
  • Barnsley 0 Newcastle 2
  • nufcTV: Perez - 'We Can't Tyke Our Foot Off The Gas'
  • nufcTV: Benitez's Pre-Barnsley Media Briefing
  • Barnsley Are "Dangerous" Opposition, Warns Rafa
  • Barnsley Boss Eyeing Three Points
  • Pic Special: All Set For Oakwell
  • It's Tierney For Tykes
  • Live Commentary Of Tykes Clash
  • Barnsley Game Live

Barnsley v Newcastle: Three Changes

By Dan King - Newcastle United Managing Editor

Rafa Benitez has made three changes from the side which beat Brentford for tonight's Sky Bet Championship game at Barnsley.

Matt Ritchie, Mo Diame and Isaac Hayden are back in the starting XI in place of Christian Atsu, Ayoze Perez and Jack Colback respectively; winger Ritchie missed the Brentford match through illness while Diame was rested and Hayden hasn't started since the 1-1 draw at Aston Villa last month.

Captain Jamaal Lascelles felt unwell on Saturday and came off in the second half but has recovered to take his place in the heart of United's defence alongside Ciaran Clark. Vurnon Anita and Paul Dummett are the full-backs, with Karl Darlow in goal.

Hayden partners Jonjo Shelvey in midfield with Ritchie, Diame and Yoan Gouffran supporting main striker Dwight Gayle, who will be looking to add to the nine goals he's scored so far this term.

On the bench are sub keeper Matz Sels, DeAndre Yedlin, Achraf Lazaar, Colback, Atsu, Perez and Aleksandar Mitrovic.

Barnsley are without Adam Armstrong, who can't play against his parent club, but skipper Conor Hourihane has recovered from a calf injury.

Barnsley (4-4-2): Adam Davies; Andy Yiadom, James Bree, Marc Roberts, Adam Jackson; Ryan Kent, Sam Morsy, Conor Hourihane (c), Adam Hammill; Sam Winnall, Marley Watkins

Substitutes: Nick Townsend, Cole Kpekawa, Angus MacDonald, Elliot Lee, Jared Bird, Tom Bradshaw, Ryan Williams

Newcastle United (4-2-3-1):
Karl Darlow; Vurnon Anita, Jamaal Lascelles (c), Ciaran Clark, Paul Dummett; Jonjo Shelvey, Jack Colback; Matt Ritchie, Mo Diame, Yoan Gouffran; Dwight Gayle

Substitutes: Matz Sels, DeAndre Yedlin, Achraf Lazaar, Jack Colback, Christian Atsu, Ayoze Perez, Aleksandar Mitrovic