Older Matches

  • Newcastle v Tottenham: Three Changes
  • Newcastle 5 Tottenham 1
  • nufcTV: Dummett Determined To End Campaign On A High
  • Match Preview: Newcastle v Tottenham
  • Rafa "Flattered" By Fans' Support
  • nufcTV: Pre-Tottenham Media Briefing
  • Rafa Reveals "Positive" Discussions
  • Fancy A Flutter Against Spurs?
  • Head-To-Head: Rafa v Spurs
  • Pick Up A Retro Programme Against Spurs
  • Taylor Takes Charge Against Spurs
  • Ticket Alert - Spurs On Sale To Members

Newcastle v Tottenham: Three Changes

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor

At St. James' Park


Rafa Benitez has made three changes to his Newcastle United starting line-up for Sunday's final Barclays Premier League fixture of the season, against Tottenham Hotspur (3pm kick-off).

Serbian striker Aleksandar Mitrovic and defensive pair Daryl Janmaat and Steven Taylor all return for the Magpies, who have already been relegated from the top flight.

The trio replace Papiss Cisse, who drops down to the substitutes' bench, injured Dutch international Vurnon Anita, and centre-back Jamaal Lascelles, who was sent home from training on Saturday through illness.

United are expected to line up in a 4-2-3-1 formation, with goalkeeper Karl Darlow behind a back four of Janmaat, Taylor, Chancel Mbemba and Paul Dummett.

Cheick Tiote and Jack Colback will anchor the hosts' midfield at St. James' Park, with Andros Townsend, stand-in skipper Moussa Sissoko and nine-goal leading scorer Georginio Wijnaldum ahead of them.

And they will be tasked with supplying the ammunition for Mitrovic, who has eight goals to his name this term.

Joining Cisse on the substitutes' bench are Ayoze Perez, Rolando Aarons, Siem de Jong, Jonjo Shelvey, Jamie Sterry and Freddie Woodman.  


Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Karl Darlow; Daryl Janmaat, Steven Taylor, Chancel Mbemba, Paul Dummett; Cheick Tiote, Jack Colback; Andros Townsend, Moussa Sissoko (c), Georginio Wijnaldum; Aleksandar Mitrovic

Substitutes: Freddie Woodman, Jamie Sterry, Jonjo Shelvey, Siem de Jong, Rolando Aarons, Ayoze Perez, Papiss Cisse


Tottenham Hotspur (4-2-3-1): Hugo Lloris (c); Kyle Walker, Toby Alderweireld, Jan Vertonghen, Ben Davies; Eric Dier, Ryan Mason; Erik Lamela, Christian Eriksen, Heung-min Son; Harry Kane

Substitutes: Michel Vorm, Danny Rose, Kevin Wimmer, Tom Carroll, Nacer Chadli, Josh Onomah, Clinton N'Jie


Referee: Anthony Taylor (Greater Manchester)

New 12 months membership Sign for Newcastle United
NUFC TV Sing up today & listen to live audio commentary
SMS Recive goal alerts & teams from anywhere