• Newcastle v Brighton: Perez Starts
  • Rafa Warns Of Seagulls Threat
  • Forward Duo "Fine", Says Rafa
  • nufcTV: Benitez's Pre-Brighton Media Briefing
  • nufcTV: Gouffran's Gratitude For Benitez Boost
  • Pick Up A Programme On Saturday
  • Live Commentary Of Brighton Game
  • Ticket Alert - Brighton At Home

Newcastle v Brighton: Perez Starts

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor

At St. James' Park


Newcastle United forward Ayoze Perez has been handed a place in the starting line-up for Saturday's Sky Bet Championship home fixture against Brighton & Hove Albion (5.30pm kick-off).

The Spanish starlet scored both goals in the Magpies' midweek EFL Cup win over Cheltenham Town, and with fellow front men Aleksandar Mitrovic and Dwight Gayle ruled out by head injuries sustained in that match, Perez has been tasked with leading the line at St. James' Park.

Perez is one of only four United players who keeps his place following the cup triumph, as boss Rafa Benitez shuffles his pack again, making seven changes.

Newcastle are expected to line up in a 4-2-3-1 formation, with Belgian goalkeeper Matz Sels behind a back four of Vurnon Anita, Chancel Mbemba, captain Jamaal Lascelles and Paul Dummett.

Isaac Hayden and Jonjo Shelvey will anchor the hosts' midfield, with a trio of Matt Ritchie, Mohamed Diame and Yoan Gouffran ahead of them.

And they will be tasked with supplying the ammunition for Perez, as the Magpies go in search of a fourth consecutive victory in all competitions.

On the substitutes' bench there is a place for new signing DeAndre Yedlin, who arrived on Tyneside earlier this week from Tottenham Hotspur.

And the American full-back is joined by Adam Armstrong, Jack Colback, Grant Hanley, Ciaran Clark, Jesus Gamez and Karl Darlow.


Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Matz Sels; Vurnon Anita, Chancel Mbemba, Jamaal Lascelles (c), Paul Dummett; Isaac Hayden, Jonjo Shelvey; Matt Ritchie, Mohamed Diame, Yoan Gouffran; Ayoze Perez

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, Jesus Gamez, DeAndre Yedlin, Ciaran Clark, Grant Hanley, Jack Colback, Adam Armstrong


Brighton & Hove Albion (4-4-2): David Stockdale; Bruno (c), Shane Duffy, Lewis Dunk, Gaetan Bong; Anthony Knockaert, Beram Kayal, Steve Sidwell, Jiri Skalak; Glenn Murray, Sam Baldock

Substitutes: Niki Maenpaa, Rob Hunt, Oliver Norwood, Dale Stephens, Jamie Murphy, Kazenga LuaLua, Tomer Hemed


Referee: Keith Stroud (Hampshire)

New 12 months membership Sign for Newcastle United
NUFC TV Sing up today & listen to live audio commentary
SMS Recive goal alerts & teams from anywhere