• Wigan v Newcastle: Magpies Unchanged
  • Wigan 4 Newcastle 0
  • nufcTV: Pre-Wigan Press Conference
  • Pardew: 'On Form...From Start To Finish'
  • United Boss Wary Of Wigan
  • Papiss Heading For A Record
  • No Room For Sentiment, Says Returning Ryan
  • Match Preview: Wigan v Newcastle
  • Important Information For Wigan Clash
  • Wigan Athletic (a) Sold Out.

Wigan v Newcastle: Magpies Unchanged

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Club Reporter


Newcastle United manager Alan Pardew has named an unchanged starting line-up as the Magpies travel to Wigan Athletic this afternoon (3pm kick-off).

The same 11 players who comfortably saw off Stoke 3-0 last weekend will turn out at the DW Stadium, hoping to record a seventh successive Premier League victory.

In-form striker Papiss Cisse will once again lead the line on his own, supported by a trio of attacking talent in the shape of Hatem Ben Arfa, Demba Ba and last week's two-goal hero Yohan Cabaye.

Providing the steel in the middle of the park will be Cheick Tiote and Jonas Gutierrez, and that duo will protect a back four of Danny Simpson, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini and Davide Santon, who have kept five clean sheets in their last six games.

Goalkeeper Tim Krul - ever-present in the top flight this term - is in between the sticks, and will be hoping to record shut-out number 15 of an outstanding season to date.

On the substitutes' bench, there is a place for Ryan Taylor, who makes his first return to Wigan since his departure to Tyneside just over three years ago.

Wigan make one change from their defeat at Fulham last time out, with Shaun Maloney replacing Jordi Gomez in the centre of midfield, with the latter dropping down to the bench. Also among the replacements is Hugo Rodallega, who has recovered from a recent knee injury.


Wigan Athletic (3-4-3): Ali Al Habsi; Antolin Alcaraz, Gary Caldwell (c), Maynor Figueroa; Emmerson Boyce, James McCarthy, James McArthur, Jean Beausejour; Shaun Maloney, Franco Di Santo, Victor Moses

Substitutes: Mike Pollitt, Mohamed Diame, Albert Crusat, David Jones, Jordi Gomez, Conor Sammon, Hugo Rodallega


Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Tim Krul; Danny Simpson, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Davide Santon; Cheick Tiote, Jonas Gutierrez; Hatem Ben Arfa, Yohan Cabaye, Demba Ba; Papiss Cisse

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, James Perch, Shane Ferguson, Ryan Taylor, Dan Gosling, Leon Best, Shola Ameobi