• Newcastle v Arsenal: Taylor and Barton In For Gunners Clash
  • Newcastle United 0 Arsenal 0
  • nufcTV: Big Match Preview- Arsenal
  • Pardew: "We Are Going To Impress The Fans"
  • nufcTV: Pre-Arsenal Press Conference Part 2
  • nufcTV: Pre-Arsenal Press Conference Part 1
  • Arsenal Pre-Match Ticket And Travel News
  • Walton On The Whistle
  • Arsenal (h) Tickets Now Available

Newcastle v Arsenal: Taylor and Barton In For Gunners Clash

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Journalist


Ryan Taylor and Joey Barton start for Newcastle United as they kick-off their Premier League season against Arsenal at St. James' Park this afternoon (5.30pm).

Taylor will come in at left-back following the departure of Jose Enrique to Liverpool on Friday, while Barton is given the nod on the right-hand side of midfield, despite being transfer-listed last week.

Tim Krul has won the battle for the goalkeeper's jersey, with the Dutch international starting in between the sticks against the Gunners.

He has seen off the challenge of Fraser Forster - who is a replacement today - and Steve Harper, just a couple of months after winning his first caps for the Netherlands.

There will be debuts for midfielder Yohan Cabaye and striker Demba Ba following their summer arrivals from Lille and West Ham respectively.

Fellow new recruit Gabriel Obertan is named among the substitutes, and is joined on the bench by Mike Williamson, Dan Gosling, Peter Lovenkrands, Sammy Ameobi and Leon Best.

Arsenal are without key midfielders Samir Nasri and Cesc Fabregas, but give a debut to Gervinho, who signed from Lille in the summer. Thomas Vermaelen and Robin van Persie have both recovered from knocks to take their place in the starting line-up.

Winger Theo Walcott is only fit enough for a place among the subs, along with new signing teenager Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain. 


Newcastle United (4-4-2): Tim Krul; Danny Simpson, Steven Taylor, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Ryan Taylor; Joey Barton, Yohan Cabaye, Cheik Tiote, Jonas Gutierrez; Shola Ameobi, Demba Ba

Subs: Fraser Forster, Mike Williamson, Dan Gosling, Sammy Ameobi, Gabriel Obertan, Peter Lovenkrands, Leon Best


Arsenal (4-2-3-1): Wojciech Szczesny; Bacary Sagna, Laurent Koscielny, Thomas Vermaelen, Kieran Gibbs; Alex Song, Aaron Ramsey; Gervinho, Tomas Rosicky, Andrei Arshavin; Robin van Persie (c)

Subs: Lukasz Fabianski, Carl Jenkinson, Johan Djourou, Emmanuel Frimpong, Theo Walcott, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Marouane Chamakh