• Newcastle v Cheltenham: Debut For Jesus
  • Check Out Our Cheltenham Cup Programme
  • nufcTV: Mitro - 'I'm Ready For The Robins'
  • nufcTV: Benitez's Pre-Cheltenham Media Briefing
  • Benitez - 'We Have To Be Ready'
  • Ticket Alert - Cash Turnstiles Open On Tuesday
  • Live Commentary Of Cup Clash
  • It's Martin In The Middle

Newcastle v Cheltenham: Debut For Jesus

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor

At St. James' Park


Jesus Gamez will make his Newcastle United debut as the Magpies entertain Cheltenham Town in the second round of the EFL Cup (7.45pm kick-off).

The full-back signed from Atletico Madrid during the summer and after waiting patiently for his chance, has been handed his bow against the Robins at St. James' Park.

Gamez's inclusion is one of eight changes made by United boss Rafa Benitez for the cup tie - but it is still a side brimming with experience and quality.

Within those alterations, young defender Jamie Sterry is given a full debut, while striker Aleksandar Mitrovic appears for the first time this season having served a four-game suspension.

Newcastle are expected to line up in a 4-2-3-1 formation, with goalkeeper Karl Darlow behind a back four of Sterry, captain Jamaal Lascelles, Grant Hanley and Gamez.

Jonjo Shelvey and Jack Colback will anchor the hosts' midfield, with a trio of Rolando Aarons, Mohamed Diame and Ayoze Perez ahead of them.

And they will be tasked with supplying the ammunition for Serbian striker Mitrovic, who scored nine goals last term.

On the substitutes' bench there are places for Dwight Gayle, Yoan Gouffran, Isaac Hayden, Vurnon Anita, Chancel Mbemba, Paul Dummett and Matz Sels.


Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Karl Darlow; Jamie Sterry, Jamaal Lascelles, Grant Hanley, Jesus Gamez; Jonjo Shelvey, Jack Colback; Rolando Aarons, Mohamed Diame, Ayoze Perez; Aleksandar Mitrovic

Substitutes: Matz Sels, Paul Dummett, Chancel Mbemba, Vurnon Anita, Isaac Hayden, Yoan Gouffran, Dwight Gayle


Cheltenham Town (4-5-1): Russell Griffiths; Easah Suliman, Danny Parslow (c), Daniel O'Shaughnessy, Jordan Cranston; James Dayton, James Rowe, Asa Hall, Harry Pell, Billy Waters; Danny Wright

Substitutes: Calum Kitscha, James Jennings, Koby Arthur, Jonny Smith, Danny Whitehead, Amari Morgan-Smith


Referee: Stephen Martin (Staffordshire)

New 12 months membership Sign for Newcastle United
NUFC TV Sing up today & listen to live audio commentary
SMS Recive goal alerts & teams from anywhere