• Newcastle v Southampton: One Change
  • Match Preview: Newcastle v Southampton
  • Match Attax Giveaway With Saturday's Programme
  • Carver: 'Saints Are Serious Challengers'
  • nufcTV: Perez - 'It's All Happened So Fast'
  • Carver "So Proud" Of Returning Forster
  • nufcTV: Pre-Southampton Media Briefing
  • Madley In The Middle For Saints Fixture
  • Travel Advice For Saints Match

Newcastle v Southampton: One Change

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


Massadio Haidara returns to the Newcastle United starting line-up for Saturday's Barclays Premier League home fixture against Southampton (5.30pm kick-off).

The French full-back comes in for Mike Williamson, who drops down to the bench, and that is the only change from an impressive and spirited performance at leaders Chelsea seven days ago, which ultimately ended in defeat.

It is a 15th appearance of the season for Haidara, and a first league start since the beginning of December, away at Burnley.

United are expected to line up in a 4-3-3 formation, with goalkeeper Tim Krul behind a slightly reshuffled rearguard of Daryl Janmaat, captain Fabricio Coloccini, Paul Dummett and Haidara.

Moussa Sissoko, Vurnon Anita and Jack Colback will make up a three-man midfield, while in the final third, Remy Cabella and Yoan Gouffran will take up roles on the flanks, either side of five-goal Spanish starlet Ayoze Perez.

Joining Williamson on the substitutes' bench, there is a welcome return for midfielder Mehdi Abeid, who has been sidelined recently by a fractured toe.

Also in the replacements are Emmanuel Riviere, Adam Armstrong, Sammy Ameobi, Davide Santon and Freddie Woodman.


Newcastle United (4-3-3): Tim Krul; Daryl Janmaat, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Paul Dummett, Massadio Haidara; Moussa Sissoko, Vurnon Anita, Jack Colback; Remy Cabella, Ayoze Perez, Yoan Gouffran

Substitutes: Freddie Woodman, Davide Santon, Mike Williamson, Mehdi Abeid, Sammy Ameobi, Adam Armstrong, Emmanuel Riviere


Southampton (4-2-3-1): Fraser Forster; Nathaniel Clyne, Jose Fonte (c), Florin Gardos, Ryan Bertrand; Harrison Reed, Steven Davis; Eljero Elia, James Ward-Prowse, Dusan Tadic; Graziano Pelle

Substitutes: Kelvin Davis, Jason McCarthy, Matt Targett, Jack Cork, Jake Hesketh, Lloyd Isgrove, Shane Long


Referee: Robert Madley (West Yorkshire)

New 12 months membership Sign for Newcastle United
NUFC TV Sing up today & listen to live audio commentary
SMS Recive goal alerts & teams from anywhere