Older Matches

  • Newcastle v West Ham: Cisse Starts
  • Carver: 'We Will Step Up To The Plate'
  • Match Preview: Newcastle v West Ham
  • Determined Dummett Is Up For The Fight
  • Carver: "No Second Chances"
  • nufcTV: Dummett - 'The Biggest Game Of My Life'
  • nufcTV: Pre-West Ham Media Briefing
  • Martin In The Middle On Sunday
  • Hammers Clash To Be Televised

Newcastle v West Ham: Cisse Starts

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


Leading scorer Papiss Cisse has been handed a starting spot for Newcastle United in Sunday's crucial Barclays Premier League fixture against West Ham United (3pm kick-off).

The Senegalese striker, who has bagged 11 goals in just 21 appearances, returns to the Magpies side as one of three changes from last weekend's defeat at Queens Park Rangers.

Also coming back into the team are centre-back Mike Williamson, who has completed a two-game suspension, and midfielder Vurnon Anita.

The trio replace Ayoze Perez, Ryan Taylor and Remy Cabella, who are all named among the substitutes.

Newcastle are expected to line-up in a 4-4-2 formation, with goalkeeper Tim Krul behind a back four of Daryl Janmaat, Williamson, captain Fabricio Coloccini and Paul Dummett.

Moussa Sissoko and Jonas Gutierrez should take up roles on either flank, with Anita and Jack Colback patrolling the middle of the park.

And in the final third, Cisse will be partnered by Emmanuel Riviere, who broke his Premier League duck last weekend and has three goals in all competitions for the season.

Joining Taylor, Perez and Cabella on an attack-minded bench are Siem de Jong, Sammy Ameobi, Yoan Gouffran and goalkeeper Freddie Woodman.


Newcastle United (4-4-2): Tim Krul; Daryl Janmaat, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Paul Dummett; Moussa Sissoko, Vurnon Anita, Jack Colback, Jonas Gutierrez; Papiss Cisse, Emmanuel Riviere

Substitutes: Freddie Woodman, Ryan Taylor, Siem de Jong, Sammy Ameobi, Remy Cabella, Yoan Gouffran, Ayoze Perez


West Ham United (4-2-3-1): Adrian; Carl Jenkinson; Winston Reid, Reece Burke, Aaron Cresswell; Alex Song, Kevin Nolan (c); Stewart Downing, Cheikhou Koyate, Enner Valencia; Carlton Cole

Substitutes: Jussi Jaaskelainen, Joey O'Brien, James Tomkins, Morgan Amalfitano, Matt Jarvis, Nene, Elliot Lee


Referee: Martin Atkinson (West Yorkshire)

New 12 months membership Sign for Newcastle United
NUFC TV Sing up today & listen to live audio commentary
SMS Recive goal alerts & teams from anywhere