Older Matches

  • Newcastle v Swansea: Two Changes
  • Match Preview: Newcastle v Swansea
  • Carver Pleased With Swansea Timing
  • JC: "Actions Speak Louder Than Words"
  • Snap Up Our Swansea Programme
  • Carver Praises Monk's Liberty Impact
  • nufcTV: Pre-Swansea Media Briefing
  • Siem To Be Involved Against City

Newcastle v Swansea: Two Changes

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


John Carver has made two changes to his Newcastle United starting line-up for Saturday's Barclays Premier League home fixture against Swansea City.

Striker Emmanuel Riviere and midfielder Jonas Gutierrez return to the Magpies side as they look to end a run of six successive defeats.

Riviere, a summer signing from Monaco, has two goals from 23 appearances this term, while Argentine international has featured five times since recovering from testicular cancer earlier this season.

The duo replace Mehdi Abeid and Yoan Gouffran, who both drop down to the substitutes' bench.

United are expected to line-up in a 4-1-2-1-2 formation against the Swans, utilising a midfield diamond.

Goalkeeper Tim Krul will be behind a back four of Daryl Janmaat, Mike Williamson, captain Fabricio Coloccini and Vurnon Anita.

Ryan Taylor will anchor the Newcastle midfield, with Gutierrez and Jack Colback just ahead of him.

And in the final third, French forward Remy Cabella will be deployed just behind a front pairing of Riviere and Ayoze Perez.

Joining Gouffran and Abeid on the bench, there is also a welcome return for Siem de Jong, who hasn't featured since the end of August following a torn thigh muscle and a collapsed lung.

Also among the replacements are Adam Armstrong, Gabriel Obertan, Sammy Ameobi and Freddie Woodman.


Newcastle United (4-1-2-1-2): Tim Krul; Daryl Janmaat, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Vurnon Anita; Ryan Taylor; Jonas Gutierrez, Jack Colback; Remy Cabella; Emmanuel Riviere, Ayoze Perez

Substitutes: Freddie Woodman, Mehdi Abeid, Yoan Gouffran, Sammy Ameobi, Gabriel Obertan, Siem de Jong, Adam Armstrong


Swansea City (4-1-2-1-2): Lukasz Fabianski; Angel Rangel, Federico Fernandez, Ashley Williams (c), Jordi Amat; Jack Cork; Jonjo Shelvey, Gylfi Sigurdsson; Nathan Dyer; Jefferson Montero, Nelson Oliveira

Substitutes: Gerhard Tremmel, Kyle Bartley, Leon Britton, Ki Sung-Yueng, Matt Grimes, Jay Fulton, Marvin Emnes


Referee: Neil Swarbrick (Lancashire)

New 12 months membership Sign for Newcastle United
NUFC TV Sing up today & listen to live audio commentary
SMS Recive goal alerts & teams from anywhere