Papiss Cisse

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


Alan Pardew has named an unchanged starting line-up as Newcastle United entertain Crystal Palace at St. James' Park in the Barclays Premier League (3pm kick-off).

The Magpies suffered a single-goal defeat at Fulham seven days ago, and Pardew has kept faith with the same group of players as they look to record a third victory in four games.

In the absence of injured 13-goal leading scorer Loic Remy, Senegalese striker Papiss Cisse gets the nod to partner Luuk de Jong in attack, as United start in a 4-4-2 formation.

Moussa Sissoko and Yoan Gouffran will be supplying the ammunition from either flank, while Cheick Tiote and Vurnon Anita patrol the middle of the park.

And at the back, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini and Paul Dummett will offer protection to goalkeeper Tim Krul.

On the substitutes' bench there is a place for the fit-again Hatem Ben Arfa, who join5s Shola Ameobi, Sylvain Marveaux, Dan Gosling, Steven Taylor, Massadio Haidara and Rob Elliot.


Newcastle United (4-4-2): Tim Krul; Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Paul Dummett; Moussa Sissoko, Cheick Tiote, Vurnon Anita, Yoan Gouffran; Luuk de Jong, Papiss Cisse

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, Massadio Haidara, Steven Taylor, Dan Gosling, Sylvain Marveaux, Hatem Ben Arfa, Shola Ameobi


Crystal Palace (4-5-1): Julian Speroni; Adrian Mariappa, Scott Dann, Damien Delaney, Joel Ward; Yannick Bolasie, Kagisho Dikgacoi, Mile Jedinak (c), Joe Ledley, Jason Puncheon; Cameron Jerome

Substitutes: Wayne Hennessey, Danny Gabbidon, Adlene Guedioura, Stuart O'Keefe, Barry Bannan, Thomas Ince, Glenn Murray


Referee: Lee Probert (Wiltshire)