Hatem Ben Arfa

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor

At Carrow Road


Alan Pardew has made three changes to his Newcastle United starting line-up for Tuesday's Barclays Premier League fixture away at Norwich City (7.45pm kick-off).

The Magpies were 3-1 winners at West Ham last time out and will be looking for their eighth away victory of the season in all competitions at Carrow Road.

Mathieu Debuchy returns to the side having served a three-game suspension, while forwards Hatem Ben Arfa and Sammy Ameobi are included from the off.

Twenty-one-year-old Ameobi makes his first Premier League start of the season and his first appearance since the end of October.

The trio replace Yoan Gouffran, who is injured, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa and Yohan Cabaye.

United will line up in a 4-3-3 formation, with goalkeeper Tim Krul protected by a back four of Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, Steven Taylor and Davide Santon.

Stand-in captain Cheick Tiote will be joined in a midfield trio by Vurnon Anita and Moussa Sissoko.

Up top, Hatem Ben Arfa and Sammy Ameobi will be either side of 11-goal leading scorer Loic Remy.

On the substitutes' bench, there is a place for 16-year-old striker Adam Armstrong.

The Academy product has been prolific for the Club's Under-18 and Under-21 sides - as well as for England's youth sides - and is rewarded with the chance to make his first team bow. 

He is joined among the replacements by Rob Elliot, Massadio Haidara, Paul Dummett, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Dan Gosling and Shola Ameobi.


Norwich City (4-4-2): John Ruddy; Russell Martin, Ryan Bennett, Sebastien Bassong (c), Martin Olsson; Robert Snodgrass, Leory Fer, Bradley Johnson, Anthony Pilkington; Ricky Van Wolfswinkel, Gary Hooper

Substitutes: Mark Bunn, Steven Whittaker, Javier Garrido, Alexander Tettey, Nathan Redmond, Johan Elmander, Luciano Becchio


Newcastle United (4-3-3): Tim Krul; Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, Steven Taylor, Davide Santon; Vurnon Anita, Cheick Tiote (c), Moussa Sissoko; Hatem Ben Arfa, Loic Remy, Sammy Ameobi

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, Massadio Haidara, Paul Dummett, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Dan Gosling, Shola Ameobi, Adam Armstrong


Referee: Chris Foy (Lancashire)