Paul Dummett

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor

At the Stadium of Light


Paul Dummett makes his full Barclays Premier League debut as Newcastle United travel to Sunderland for the Tyne-Wear derby on Sunday (1.30pm kick-off).

The 22-year-old has broken into the Magpies' first team this season and has made a number of top flight appearances off the bench, as well as a couple of starts in the Capital One Cup.

But the Academy graduate and United fan will be in from the start for the first time in league action on Wearside, following his goalscoring display against Liverpool last weekend.

With Fabricio Coloccini and Steven Taylor ruled out through respective groin and hamstring injuries, and Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa serving a one-game ban - Dummett will play at centre-back alongside Mike Williamson.

Dummett's inclusion is Newcastle's only change from their 2-2 draw with Liverpool eight days ago.

It means Alan Pardew will send his side out in a 4-3-3 formation, with goalkeeper Tim Krul behind a defence of Mathieu Debuchy, Williamson, Dummett and Davide Santon.

Moussa Sissoko, Yohan Cabaye and stand-in skipper Cheick Tiote make up the midfield trio, with Yoan Gouffran and Loic Remy either side of central striker Hatem Ben Arfa in three-man attack.

On the substitutes' bench there is a place for derby day hero Shola Ameobi, who has seven Tyne-Wear goals to his name, and he is joined by younger brother Sammy, who is at the other end of the spectrum, experiencing the local fixture for the first time.

Massadio Haidara is among the replacements as well - his first matchday involvement of the season following injury.


Sunderland (4-4-2): Keiren Westwood; Phil Bardsley, John O'Shea (c), Carlos Cuellar, Andrea Dossena; Sebastian Larsson, Lee Cattermole, Jack Colback, Adam Johnson; Jozy Altidore, Steven Fletcher

Substitutes: Vito Mannone, Ondrej Celustka, Valentin Roberge, Ki Sung-Yueng, Craig Gardner, Emanuele Giaccherini, Fabio Borini


Newcastle United (4-3-3): Tim Krul; Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, Paul Dummett, Davide Santon; Moussa Sissoko, Cheick Tiote (c), Yohan Cabaye; Yoan Gouffran, Hatem Ben Arfa, Loic Remy

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, Massadio Haidara, Vurnon Anita, Gabriel Obertan, Sammy Ameobi, Papiss Cisse, Shola Ameobi


Referee: Lee Probert (Wiltshire)