Hatem Ben Arfa

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


Alan Pardew has made two changes to his Newcastle United starting line-up for Saturday's Barclays Premier League home fixture against Liverpool at St. James' Park.

French international duo Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa and Hatem Ben Arfa return from the start as the Reds come to Tyneside, replacing captain Fabricio Coloccini, who has a groin injury, and Senegalese forward Papiss Cisse, who is among the substitutes.

Yanga-Mbiwa will partner Mike Williamson in the heart of United's defence, while Ben Arfa will play as a central striker in a three-man front line.

The Magpies will line up in a 4-3-3 formation, with goalkeeper Tim Krul behind a defence of Mathieu Debuchy, Williamson, Yanga-Mbiwa and Davide Santon.

Stand-in skipper Cheick Tiote, Moussa Sissoko and Yohan Cabaye will patrol the middle of the park, while Yoan Gouffran and Loic Remy will play either side of Ben Arfa in the final third.

On the substitutes' bench, alongside Cisse, there are places for goalkeeper Rob Elliot, defender Paul Dummett, midfielder Vurnon Anita, wingers Gabriel Obertan and Sammy Ameobi, and striker Shola Ameobi.


Newcastle United (4-3-3): Tim Krul; Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Davide Santon; Yohan Cabaye, Cheick Tiote (c), Moussa Sissoko; Yoan Gouffran, Hatem Ben Arfa, Loic Remy

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, Paul Dummett, Vurnon Anita, Gabriel Obertan, Sammy Ameobi, Papiss Cisse, Shola Ameobi


Liverpool (3-4-1-2): Simon Mignolet; Kolo Toure, Martin Skrtel, Mamadou Sakho; Glen Johnson, Jordan Henderson, Steven Gerrard (c), Aly Cissokho; Victor Moses; Luis Suarez, Daniel Sturridge

Substitutes: Brad Jones, Jon Flanagan, Martin Kelly, Daniel Agger, Joe Allen, Raheem Sterling, Luis Alberto


Referee: Andre Marriner (West Midlands)