Capital One Cup

By Dan King - Newcastle United Digital Editor

The draw for the second round of the Capital One Cup will take place on Thursday afternoon.

Newcastle United will learn their opponents when the draw is screened live on Sky Sports News at 12.30pm.

Alan Pardew's men are one of the 25 seeded sides, meaning they will face one out of Accrington Stanley, Barnsley, Bournemouth, Brentford, Bristol City, Burton Albion, Bury, Carlisle United, Cheltenham Town, Doncaster Rovers, Huddersfield Town, Leyton Orient, Millwall, MK Dons, Morecambe, Newport County, Notts County, Peterborough United, Preston North End, Rotherham United, Stevenage, Swindon Town, Tranmere Rovers, Walsall or Yeovil Town.

The 35 winning teams from the first round, along with the 14 Premier League clubs not involved in European competition - plus Reading - are involved at this stage of the competition.

Last season, Newcastle did not come in until the third round due to their Europa League commitments, and were knocked out by Manchester United following a 2-1 defeat at Old Trafford.