Papiss Cisse

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor

At St. Mirren Park 


Papiss Cisse starts his first pre-season friendly of the summer as Newcastle United travel to St. Mirren on Tuesday night.

The Senegalese front man hasn't featured in any of United's four warm-up games to date but is in from the start at St. Mirren Park in an experienced Magpies' line-up.

Also included are club captain Fabricio Coloccini - who missed Saturday's game at Blackpool through suspension - and French international forward Hatem Ben Arfa, as boss Alan Pardew looks to give both key players more game time ahead of the new campaign.

United will line up in a 4-2-3-1 formation, with goalkeeper Rob Elliot protected by a back four of Mathieu Debuchy, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, skipper Coloccini and Academy product Paul Dummett, who spent the majority of last season on loan at St. Mirren.

Vurnon Anita and Cheick Tiote will anchor the midfield, allowing an attack-minded trio in front of them of Ben Arfa, Dan Gosling and Sammy Ameobi to feed lone striker Cisse.

On the substitutes' bench there is a place for another former Buddies loanee in Conor Newton, who scored the winner in the Scottish League Cup final last term.

And he is joined among the replacements by Jak Alnwick, Davide Santon, Remie Streete, Mike Williamson, Michael Richardson, Haris Vuckic, Yoan Gouffran and Adam Campbell.


St. Mirren (4-4-2): David Cornell; David van Zanten, Marc McAusland, Jim Goodwin, Danny Grainger; John McGinn, Paul McGowan, Gary Harkins, Gary Teale; Steven Thompson, Thomas Reilly

Substitutes: Christophe Dilo, Lee Mair, Jason Naismith, Anton Brady, Darren McGregor, Mo Yaqub, Kealan Dillon, Barry Cuddihy, Sean Kelly, Jon Scullion, Jordan Stewart


Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Rob Elliot; Mathieu Debuchy, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Paul Dummett; Vurnon Anita, Cheick Tiote; Hatem Ben Arfa, Dan Gosling, Sammy AmeobiPapiss Cisse

Substitutes: Jak Alnwick, Davide Santon, Remie Streete, Mike Williamson, Michael Richardson, Conor Newton, Haris Vuckic, Yoan Gouffran, Adam Campbell


Referee: John Beaton