Joe Kerridge signs his scholarship

By Dan King - Newcastle United Club Reporter

Newcastle United has announced its new intake of Academy scholars, with 14 youngsters joining the Club on a full-time basis ahead of next season.

Adam Armstrong, James Atkinson, Daniel Barlaser, Kyle Cameron, Jamie Cobain, Ben Drennan, Andrew Hall, Joe Kerridge, Adam Laidler, Brendan Pearson, Callum Roberts, Jordan Storey, Callum Williams and Freddie Woodman have all signed terms with the Club, watched by manager Alan Pardew.

Many of the new boys have already made their under-18 bows, with the likes of Armstrong, Woodman and Roberts regulars under Dave Watson as the Magpies finished second in the Barclays Under-18 Premier League Tier Two.

Forward Armstrong and defender Cameron have both represented England at under-16 level while goalkeeper Woodman has played for the under-17 national team and winger Barlaser has been capped at schoolboy level by Turkey.

Striker Hall scored twice on his under-18s debut against Aston Villa in March while Roberts ended last term with eight goals in nine appearances and left-back Laidler has already made headlines after he was first spotted while attending a Newcastle United Foundation coaching course.

The Club welcomes all of the new scholars to the Academy and wishes them well for the next two years and beyond.