Mathieu Debuchy

Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


Mathieu Debuchy and Mike Williamson return to the Newcastle United starting line-up for Sunday's Barclays Premier League fixture away at Queens Park Rangers (3pm kick-off).

Right-back Debuchy returns following a one-game ban, while centre-back Williamson makes his first appearance since the Magpies exited the Europa League at the hands of Benfica a month ago.

Those are the only two changes from last weekend's goalless draw at West Ham, with Danny Simpson dropping down to the substitutes' bench and centre-back Williamson ruled out through illness.

As at Upton Park, Newcastle will line up in a 4-3-3 formation with goalkeeper Rob Elliot protected by a back four of Debuchy, Williamson, captain Fabricio Coloccini and Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa.

The midfield trio will be Yohan Cabaye, Cheick Tiote and Jonas Gutierrez, with French duo Hatem Ben Arfa and Yoan Gouffran either side of 13-goal striker Papiss Cisse is a three-pronged forward line.

On the substitutes' bench alongside Simpson there are places for James Perch, Vurnon Anita, Gabriel Obertan and Adam Campbell, while there is also a welcome return for French playmaker Sylvain Marveaux, who has missed the last four weeks with a groin injury.


Queens Park Rangers (4-4-2): Robert Green; Jose Bosingwa, Nedum Onuoha, Clint Hill (c), Armand Traore; Andros Townsend, Jermaine Jenas, Stephane Mbia, Junior Hoilett; Loic Remy, Bobby Zamora

Substitutes: Brian Murphy, Fabio da Silva, Esteban Granero Shaun Derry, Ji-Sung Park, Adel Taarabt, Jamie Mackie


Newcastle United (4-3-3): Rob Elliot; Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Mapou Yanga-MbiwaYohan Cabaye, Cheick Tiote, Jonas Gutierrez; Hatem Ben Arfa, Papiss Cisse, Yoan Gouffran

Substitutes: Steve Harper, Danny Simpson, James Perch, Vurnon Anita, Sylvain Marveaux, Gabriel Obertan, Adam Campbell


Referee: Lee Probert (Wiltshire)