Shola Ameobi and Yohan Cabaye

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Club Reporter


Newcastle United manager Alan Pardew has made two changes to his starting line-up for Saturday's Premier League home game against Reading (3pm kick-off).

Midfielder Yohan Cabaye and long-serving striker Shola Ameobi are both in from the off, as the Magpies look to build on a goalless draw against Norwich last time out.

The duo take the place of James Perch and Gabriel Obertan, who both drop down to the substitutes' bench, and for Cabaye, it will be his first start since undergoing groin surgery in the middle of November.

United are expected to line up in a 4-2-3-1 formation, with goalkeeper Tim Krul protected by a back four of Mathieu Debuchy - making his home debut - Mike Williamson, captain Fabricio Coloccini and Davide Santon.

Vurnon Anita and Cabaye will anchor the hosts' midfield, with Ameobi, Sylvain Marveaux and Jonas Gutierrez providing the support and creativity for lone striker Papiss Cisse.

Newcastle's bench has a much-more experienced look about it than in recent weeks.

Along with Perch and Obertan, there is a place for fit-again centre-back Steven Taylor, who joins Gael Bigirimana, Sammy Ameobi and Nile Ranger among the replacements.

Former Newcastle midfielder Danny Guthrie, who swapped Tyneside for Berkshire in the summer, is in the heart of the Royals' team, while they also hand a debut to new signing Stephen Kelly in three changes from their victory over West Brom last weekend.


Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Tim Krul; Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Davide Santon; Vurnon Anita, Yohan Cabaye; Shola Ameobi, Sylvain Marveaux, Jonas Gutierrez; Papiss Cisse

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, James Perch, Steven Taylor, Gael Bigirimana, Gabriel Obertan, Sammy Ameobi, Nile Ranger


Reading (4-2-3-1): Adam Federici; Stephen Kelly, Alex Pearce, Adrian Mariappa, Ian Harte; Mikele Leigertwood, Danny Guthrie; Jobi McAnuff (c), Garath McCleary, Jimmy Kebe; Pavel Pogrebnyak  

Substitutes: Stuart Taylor, Chris Gunter, Sean Morrison, Hope Akpan, Jem Karacan, Adam Le Fondre, Noel Hunt


Referee: Andre Marriner (West Midlands)