Mathieu Debuchy

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Club Reporter


Mathieu Debuchy makes his Newcastle United debut on Saturday as they travel to Norwich City in the Barclays Premier League (3pm kick-off).

The French international right-back signed from Lille eight days ago and manager Alan Pardew has wasted no time in naming him in his starting line-up to face the Canaries at Carrow Road.

Debuchy's inclusion is one of six changes from last weekend's disappointing FA Cup third round exit at the hands of Brighton, with the Magpies' team this time out showing much more experience.

As well as Debuchy, also coming into the side are goalkeeper Tim Krul, captain Fabricio Coloccini, Argentine midfielder Jonas Gutierrez, playmaker Sylvain Marveaux and striker Papiss Cisse.

United are expected to line up in a 4-2-3-1 formation, with Krul protected by a back four of Debuchy, Mike Williamson, Coloccini and Davide Santon.

James Perch and Vurnon Anita will anchor the midfield, with Gabriel Obertan, Marveaux and Gutierrez providing the creativity for lone front man Cisse.

On the substitutes' bench there is a place for fit-again midfielder Yohan Cabaye, who is in the squad for the first time since undergoing groin surgery back in November.

The influential Frenchman is joined by the emerging talents of James Tavernier, Gael BigirimanaRomain Amalfitano, Sammy Ameobi and Nile Ranger.


Norwich City (4-5-1): Mark Bunn; Russell Martin (c), Sebastien Bassong, Michael Turner, Javier Garrido; Anthony Pilkington, Bradley Johnson, Alexander Tettey, Robert Snodgrass, Wes Hoolahan; Simeon Jackson

Substitutes: Declan Rudd, Leon Barnett, Ryan Bennett, David Fox, Elliott Bennett, Harry Kane, Grant Holt


Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Tim Krul; Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Davide Santon; James Perch, Vurnon Anita; Gabriel Obertan, Sylvain Marveaux, Jonas Gutierrez; Papiss Cisse

Substitutes: Steve Harper, James Tavernier, Gael Bigirimana, Yohan Cabaye, Romain Amalfitano, Sammy Ameobi, Nile Ranger


Referee: Anthony Taylor (Manchester)