Rob Elliot

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Club Reporter

At the Stade Chaban Delmas


Manager Alan Pardew has made nine changes to his Newcastle United starting line-up for Thursday night's Europa League Group D tie away at Bordeaux (6pm kick-off GMT).

Just three days after their Premier League victory over Wigan, Pardew has opted to rest a number of key players and selected a youthful-looking side, with Mike Williamson and Sylvain Marveaux the only survivors.

In come youngsters James Tavernier, Shane Ferguson, Gael Bigirimana, Sammy Ameobi, Mehdi Abeid and Nile Ranger, the latter of who makes his first Magpies start since April 2011.

There are also places in the team for back-up goalkeeper Rob Elliot, James Perch and Shola Ameobi - with the experienced striker leading the line on his own in a 4-2-3-1 formation.

Ranger, Marveaux and Sammy Ameobi will provide creativity from just behind him, with Abeid and Bigirimana anchoring the midfield.

Tavernier and Ferguson will take up the full-back berths, and have Williamson and Perch inside them in the heart of the defence.

Both Newcastle and Bordeaux have already secured their place in the knockout stages of the competition, but United know that only a victory would see them top the standings, swapping places with their opponents in the process.

For the hosts, former Sunderland forward David Bellion starts up front in a much-changed line-up, and they have also named just five substitutes. 


Bordeaux (4-4-2): Kevin Olimpa; Matthieu Chalme, Marc Planus, Florian Marange, Maxime Poundje; Fahid Ben Khalfallah, Andre Poko, Gregory Sertic (c), Henri Saivet; David Bellion, Cheick Diabate

Substitutes: Abdoulaye Keita, Ludovic Sane, Landry N'Guemo, Nicolas Maurice-Belay, Hadi Sacko 


Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Rob Elliot; James Tavernier, James Perch, Mike Williamson, Shane Ferguson; Mehdi Abeid, Gael Bigirimana; Nile Ranger, Sylvain Marveaux, Sammy Ameobi; Shola Ameobi (c)

Substitutes: Tim Krul, Danny Simpson, Fabricio Coloccini, Vurnon Anita, Romain Amalfitano, Papiss Cisse, Adam Campbell


Referee: Menashe Masiah (Israel)