James Perch

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Club Reporter


James Perch has been handed a starting spot for Newcastle United as they entertain West Bromwich Albion on Sunday afternoon (3pm kick-off).

The inclusion of the versatile former Nottingham Forest is an enforced swap, replacing the suspended Cheick Tiote, who was sent off against  Sunderland last weekend.

And that is the Magpies' only change to their starting line-up from the one which took to the Stadium of Light pitch seven days ago.

It means manager Alan Pardew has kept faith with centre-back Mike Williamson and striker Shola Ameobi, so Steven Taylor and Papiss Cisse have to be content with a seat on the substitutes' bench.

There are nine alterations from Thursday night's Europa League victory over Club Brugge, but in terms of United's Premier League team it is very familiar.

A 4-4-2 formation is expected, with goalkeeper Tim Krul protecting a back four of Danny Simpson, Williamson, captain Fabricio Coloccini and Davide Santon.

Yohan Cabaye and Perch will make up the hosts' central midfield partnership, with Hatem Ben Arfa and Jonas Gutierrez providing creativity from either flank.

And Ameobi partners six-goal leading scorer Demba Ba, who bagged a double when the Baggies came to Tyneside last season.

On the bench there are places for Shane Ferguson, Sammy Ameobi and Gabriel Obertan following impressive midweek performances against Brugge.

West Brom name on-loan Chelsea forward Romelu Lukaku up front on his own, while ex-Middlesbrough midfielder James Morrison is also in the starting line-up.


Newcastle United (4-4-2): Tim Krul; Danny Simpson, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Davide Santon; Hatem Ben Arfa, James Perch, Yohan Cabaye, Jonas Gutierrez; Shola Ameobi, Demba Ba

Substitutes: Steve Harper, Shane Ferguson, Steven Taylor, Vurnon Anita, Gabriel Obertan, Sammy Ameobi, Papiss Cisse


West Bromwich Albion (4-2-3-1): Ben Foster; Gabriel Tamas, Gareth McAuley, Jonas Olsson, Liam Ridgewell; Youssouf Mulumbu, James Morrison; Peter Odemwingie, Zoltan Gera, Graham Dorrans; Romelu Lukaku

Substitutes: Luke Daniels, Gonzalo Jara Reyes, Goran Popov, Yassine El Ghanassy, Markus Rosenberg, Shane Long, Marc-Antoine Fortune


Referee: Chris Foy (Lancashire)